Dylann Kelly: One Hundred Demons by Lynda Barry

February 4

Impressions of Assigned Books

I have already studied Lynda Barry’s Persepolis, What It Is, and One Hundred Demons. I am currently getting through Syllabus. My favorite is One Hundred Demons because it is memoir. Although I admire Barry and enjoy the content of all her books, I am overwhelmed when I try to read them. I can only manage small sections and sense I experience what people with sensory overload must feel at a carnival. I love the colors and drawings, but find relief when she occasionally writes marginal notes or columns without the drawings. Still, I am excited to study her work and thrilled that I will see and hear her speak in our city this spring!

Perhaps some of my “attention disorder” is related to my age and experience. I have an overwhelming sense that there is not enough time to do all I want to accomplish in the time I have left (though I don’t know how much time that is, as does no one). It’s not just Barry’s work…it’s everything, from eating a meal to making time to sleep.

So, with the instructors indulgence, for this first report (I will address the other reserved books) I am excited to report that I have found a graphic novel which I believe will advance my work! It’s 5 Centimeters per Second by Makoto Shinkai. The artist is Yukiko Seike. I found it while looking through graphic novels at Barnes and Noble bookstore. I wanted to give it to my granddaughter, but decided it was unsuitable for her age due to one very well depicted panel that is beyond her innocence.

I was just as happy to keep 5 Centimeters per Second as a tool to use this semester. My perspective is changing already! The panels are beautifully drawn without “clutter” but with wonderful backgrounds. This book seems to have more close and distance shots from all angles, reminding me more of photographic perspective.

Perhaps it is my age that makes it difficult for me to leave reality based stories and embrace fantasy as a genre on which I should spend my time. I do enjoy reading it sometimes, but I don’t feel I can accomplish what I need to do if I focus on it. This is what I enjoy about Barry’s work: It is based in reality.